HORSEPLOP.COM

General Category => Thoroughbred Racing => Topic started by: Superfecta on October 17, 2024, 02:06:56 PM

Title: Aqueduct race 2
Post by: Superfecta on October 17, 2024, 02:06:56 PM
Can someone explain why the 2nd place finisher was disqualified ?
He was declared a non starter. I thought I heard the announcer say he was interfered with at the start. So if he’s the victim of a foul then why take him down ?
The disqualification cut the field down to 4 runners and that canceled show wagering.  The 3rd place horse had over $100,000 in show money. The refund saved the track whatever the show loss would be as well.
Title: Re: Aqueduct race 2
Post by: luker2453 on October 21, 2024, 01:44:27 PM
The horse was not disqualified, he was declared a non-starter because the assistant starter had a hold on him when the gate opened. The stewards had no choice to say that he was a non-starter.  Got a tough trip, and still ran a nice race to finish ahead of the 1-9 shot who ran third.  Tough break for the owner and anyone who bet the horse to place or in the gimmicks.
Title: Re: Aqueduct race 2
Post by: Papillon on January 04, 2025, 10:05:51 AM
Can someone explain why the 2nd place finisher was disqualified ?
He was declared a non starter. I thought I heard the announcer say he was interfered with at the start. So if he’s the victim of a foul then why take him down ?
The disqualification cut the field down to 4 runners and that canceled show wagering.  The 3rd place horse had over $100,000 in show money. The refund saved the track whatever the show loss would be as well.

The assistant starter was still holding the horse when the gate opened--he was declared a non starter because he did not receive a fair start

if he wins he is considered a starter--those are the New York rules
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2025, SimplePortal